Bodhichita- my version

I am reading “Not for happiness” by DJKR and I have reached the chapter that explains of “Bodhichita”, well, last night, I must have briefly dozed off while reading this book, I woke up from a hilarious dream that had be cracking up into pieces at 12;15am (Thanks for the understanding family..Probably they thought I was sleep laughing again)…

In my dream, I was visiting my friend Nidup, only to realize that she had invited all her other friends some of whom I barely know. Nidup tells me, we are all gathered to make momo at her place as that’s how she likes to catch up with friends, she tells me, I should be okay since I have done this before with the same group of people. As I realize that I have done that once, I begin to feel vaguely uncomfortable and decides to leave. So I send Nidup, sitting right next to me an “SMS” saying I suddenly remember that I have an errand to run for my mother and how sorry I feel to leave this very fun gathering.  As I was leaving, Nidup’s 8years old nephew and his friend appears from nowhere and decides to hit me randomly for no particular reason…! These boys were being boys I think, no amount of me saying I am telling on you to your aunt would stop them. Their punches were getting heavier, not like punches from kids at all, it was beginning to hurt a little and I was beginning to get angry a little.  Calling out to Nidup for help fell on a deaf ear, Nidup either pretended not hear me or maybe she meant to take “catch up with friends to a whole new level”, there was not even a half hearted attempt to stop her nephew. There I was miserably getting beaten up by two 8 years old, knowing that I could hit them also but it would be wrong to react to kid with violent expression, forget hitting them back. Suddenly I think of a plan,  I decide to tell this two badass kids that we would be playing some game where they are to be bad guys getting beaten up by good guy (Me)…I realize, that is the only way I could hit back or make them stop without making them cry..:D and also in that way, I won’t be looking silly in front of  others who have pretended to be so busy making momo/catching up and ignored me getting beaten up completely, like its non-existing.  But before I could really apply my plans…I woke up…! Phew…

Anyway, I realize that I could relate this, my dream to the chapter I was reading. The book says that if we do not have bodhichita empowerment, we can contemplate on it and that it can be counted as practice as well. I thought about my dream and I feel practicing act of Bodhichita is like letting oneself get badly beaten up by two 8 years olds, even though you are fully aware of your strength to beat them both into pulps any minute…lol.. I feel that my restraint came from the wisdom that these two were mere children and compassion that children really don’t know things…hahaha. I feel, one should probably look at the world with similar attitude. i felt that my waking up before I could beat them up is like enlightenment…in waking up, I see the truth that it was just a dream, does not matter how real it looked to be when I was really getting beaten up…lol…..so here is my prayer…I really did made this up like right now, May I continue to see reasons for the benefit of others, may I encourage others to see it too…. (anyway, this is my silly approach to dharma…..You can laugh your  silly ass out, or decide to give me ur interpretation of my dream..i am really not just saying it okay..:D)

Leave a comment